Thursday, February 19, 2009

Echoes Evolving; African American History through Women

Diva of the Day--Andrea
February Playlist

This show entitled "Echoes Evolving" is a tribute to the African American Woman and women around the world who are the evolutions of the women they come from in the form of modern day echoes. Saying things that have been said before, but in a different way.

This show also featured two interviews:

1:30 pm
Interview with Christine Johnson of
Woman Speak

Interview with N'ea Posey about Being Bessie Smith for
When Harlem Came to Paris

  • Echo Breaths Sweet Honey In The Rock 5:36
  • Green Eyes Mama's Gun Erykah Badu 10:05
  • I Will Move On Up A Little Higher Amazing Grace Mahalia Jackson 2:42
  • Strange Fruit The Billie Holiday Songbook Billie Holiday 3:05
  • Coming Home The Orchard Lizz Wright 4:46
  • I Know You Know Esperanza Esperanza Spalding 3:46
  • Funny Face Avant Gershwin Patti Austin 4:01
  • My Prayers Soulsinger Ledisi 4:39 Jazz
  • A Lua Girou Girou (Adaptation Of The Song Girou Girou) Bataparana Edit Africa Brazil Grupo Batuque 4:10
  • Chasing Pavements Hometown Glory Adele 3:34
  • Twice Little Dragon Little Dragon 3:06
  • Babethandaza In This Land Sweet Honey In The Rock 3:09
  • Alla En Los Hollos Ritmo Y Canto Ritmo Y Canto 7:01
  • Somewhere In My Lifetime Under Her Spell: Greatest Hits Phyllis Hyman 3:30
  • Photograph Sarah Vaughan: Brazilian Romance Sarah Vaughan 2:33
  • Heaven's Here On Earth New Beginning Tracy Chapman 5:23
  • One Love Balancê Sara Tavares 4:35
  • Bag Lady Mama's Gun Erykah Badu 5:48
  • Bowmboi Bowmboï Rokia Traoré 9:56
  • Ella's Song Breaths Sweet Honey In The Rock 5:50
  • Oh My Love (Djarabi) Red Earth - A Malian Journey Dee Dee Bridgewater 6:03


Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More

Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | ewa network review